JD Cymru Leagues clubs to no longer be involved in SPFL Trust Trophy

JD Cymru Leagues clubs will no longer compete in the SPFL Trust Trophy following a new format to the competition announced by the SPFL.

Since the 2016/17 season – with the exception of two years during the COVID-19 pandemic – the competition has invited two representatives from Wales and two from Northern Ireland each campaign.

JD Cymru Premier clubs have enjoyed memorable runs in the competition, with Connah’s Quay Nomads reaching the final in 2019 and The New Saints reaching the final this year.

However, new competition rules state that the SPFL Trust Trophy will revert to being a Scottish-only tournament for the 2024/25 season.

Neil Doncaster, group chief executive of the SPFL, said: “We have very much enjoyed the participation of cross-border teams, who have competed in six seasons of this competition since they first joined in Season 2016/17.

“However, their involvement does further complicate our already congested fixture schedule. Hence the SPFL Trust Trophy will revert to a Scottish-only competition next season.”

Learn more from FA Wales

Sign up to receive all things FAW, from team news, tickets, domestic, grassroots, to exclusive offers and prize draws.

We respect your privacy and are committed to protecting your personal data – view our privacy policy by clicking here.