Nathaniel MG Cup: Round One & Round Two draws

The first and second round draws for the 2024/25 Nathaniel MG Cup have been conducted at the new Nathaniel Cars showroom in Swansea. 

32 clubs enter the competition in round one, which is regionalised. The Northern section draw saw 15 JD Cymru North clubs plus wildcard side Newport County discover their fate, while the Southern section draw included 13 JD Cymru South clubs alongside wildcards Cardiff City, Merthyr Town and Swansea City. 

The 12 JD Cymru Premier clubs enter the competition in round two, alongside the four tier two clubs granted a first round bye based on their finishing positions in 2023/24 – Ammanford, Colwyn Bay, Llanelli Town and Pontypridd United. 

Plenty of ties catch the eye in round one, including last season’s runners-up Swansea City making the short trip to Baglan Dragons. 

Fellow wildcards Merthyr Town and Newport County are also on the road at Taffs Well and Llandudno respectively, while Cardiff City host Afan Lido. 

The draw has also produced some enticing local fixtures, as Flintshire sides Airbus UK Broughton and Mold Alexandra go head-to-head after finishing third and fourth respectively in the JD Cymru North last season, while there is an all-Gwent meeting between Cwmbran Celtic and Trethomas Bluebirds. 

In the second round, while several ties are to be fully decided on the outcome of the round one fixtures, three all-JD Cymru Premier ties were drawn – including Nathaniel MG Cup holders The New Saints hosting newly-promoted Flint Town United. 

The first round of the Nathaniel MG Cup takes place across the weekend of 19-21 July, before the second round takes place across the weekend of 2-4 August. 

Recap on RedWall+

Watch the draw again

Nathaniel MG Cup round one – Northern Section

Penrhyncoch v Guilsfield 
Llay Miners Welfare v Denbigh Town
Ruthin Town v Bangor 1876
Llandudno v Newport County
Airbus UK Broughton v Mold Alexandra
Flint Mountain v Gresford Athletic 
Caersws v Holywell Town
Prestatyn Town v Buckley Town

Nathaniel MG Cup round one – Southern Section

Baglan Dragons v Swansea City
Caerau Ely v Trefelin
Penrhiwceiber Rangers v Goytre United 
Carmarthen Town v Cambrian United 
Taffs Well v Merthyr Town
Cwmbran Celtic v Trethomas Bluebirds
Cardiff City v Afan Lido
Llantwit Major v Newport City

Nathaniel MG Cup round two – Northern Section 

Prestatyn Town or Buckley Town v Connah’s Quay Nomads
The New Saints v Flint Town United 
Llandudno or Newport County v Penrhyncoch or Guilsfield
Flint Mountain or Gresford Athletic v Airbus UK Broughton or Mold Alexandra
Ruthin Town or Bangor 1876 v Bala Town
Colwyn Bay v Aberystwyth Town
Newtown v Caernarfon Town
Caersws or Holywell Town v Llay Miners Welfare or Denbigh Town

Nathaniel MG Cup round two – Southern Section

Briton Ferry Llansawel v Penybont
Cardiff City or Afan Lido v Pontypridd United 
Cwmbran Celtic or Trethomas Bluebirds v Baglan Dragons or Swansea City
Carmarthen Town or Cambrian United v Haverfordwest County
Taffs Well or Merthyr Town v Ammanford 
Penrhiwceiber Rangers or Goytre United v Caerau Ely or Trefelin
Llantwit Major or Newport City v Cardiff Met
Barry Town United v Llanelli Town

Learn more from FA Wales

Sign up to receive all things FAW, from team news, tickets, domestic, grassroots, to exclusive offers and prize draws.

We respect your privacy and are committed to protecting your personal data – view our privacy policy by clicking here.