Euro 2024 Draw – All You Need to Know

The draw for UEFA EURO 2024 qualifying takes place at the Festhalle exhibition centre in Frankfurt, Germany on Sunday (11am) with Rob Page’s Cymru in Pot 2 as they look to qualify for a third successive EURO finals.

While the immediate focus turns to the FIFA World Cup in Qatar next month, the next qualifying campaign takes place between March and November 2023 with 23 of the 53 nations involved in Sunday’s draw looking to join hosts Germany.

Cymru made history at EURO 2016 as Chris Coleman’s side reached the semi-finals and again reached the knock-out stages under Page at EURO 2020. There will be ten qualifying groups comprising of seven groups of five teams and three groups of six teams. As the Netherlands, Croatia, Spain and Italy will also compete in the finals of the UEFA Nations League next summer, they will be allocated into the groups of five teams.

The ten group winners and ten runners-up will automatically qualify for the finals with the remaining three places decided by the play-offs that will take place in March 2024. The 53 nations involved in the qualifying draw have been seeded based on the overall rankings of the latest UEFA Nations League tournament following the completion of the group stages.

Russia are not included in the competition as they remain under suspension while the Czech Republic are now referred to as Czechia. The draw will be made by former EURO finalists Jürgen Klinsmann, Karl-Heinz Riedle, Gianluca Zambrotta and Demetrio Albertini. Here are the seven pots to which the 53 competing nations have been allocated:

UEFA Nations League pot

Netherlands, Croatia, Spain and Italy.

Pot 1

Denmark, Portugal, Belgium, Hungary, Switzerland and Poland.

Pot 2

France, Austria, Czechia, England, Cymru, Israel, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Scotland and Finland.

Pot 3

Ukraine, Iceland, Norway, Slovenia, Republic of Ireland, Albania, Montenegro, Romania, Sweden and Armenia.

Pot 4

Georgia, Greece, Turkey, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan, Kosovo, Bulgaria, Faroe Islands and North Macedonia,

Pot 5

Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Cyprus, Belarus, Lithuania, Gibraltar, Estonia, Latvia, Moldova and Malta.

Pot 6

Andorra, San Marino and Liechtenstein.

EURO facts

  • EURO 2024 will be the 17th edition of the competition that was first held in 1960 in France.
  • Germany and Spain are the most successful nations having won the trophy three times each.
  • The trophy is named in honour of UEFA’s first President, Henri Delauney, who played a key role in the formation of UEFA and the competition. He died three years before the first tournament.
  • The first five EURO finals involved just four teams. It was expanded to eight in 1980, 16 in 1996 and 24 in 2016.
  • Hosts Germany have competed at every EURO finals since 1972. This will be their 14th consecutive tournament.

Learn more from FA Wales

Sign up to receive all things FAW, from team news, tickets, domestic, grassroots, to exclusive offers and prize draws.

We respect your privacy and are committed to protecting your personal data – view our privacy policy by clicking here.