Cymru C Squad Announced for England Fixture

The Football Association of Wales (FAW) has today announced the Cymru C squad ahead of their match against England C to be held at the J.Davidson Stadium in Altrincham on Tuesday 21st March, kick-off 7:45pm. 

Manager Mark Jones has selected a 20-man squad from the JD Cymru Leagues, including 11 players who featured in last year’s 4-0 victory over England. 

Connah’s Quay Nomads midfielder Aeron Edwards, who scored twice in that fixture in Caernarfon, is named in a fifth consecutive Cymru C squad since the team’s inception in 2018. 

The only other player to achieve that feat is Barry Town United frontman Kayne Mclaggon, who becomes the first ever JD Cymru South player to earn a call-up. 

JD Cymru Premier leaders The New Saints have the joint-most players included in the squad with four – Connor Roberts, Danny Davies, Leo Smith and Gwion Dafydd. 

There is also a quartet of Cardiff Met stars selected: Emlyn Lewis, Kyle McCarthy, Tom Price and Sam Jones. 

Penybont trio Mael Davies, Kane Owen and Nathan Wood all played last year and have been picked by Jones once again. 

Pontypridd United captain Clayton Green and Bala Town goalkeeper Alex Ramsay return after starting in both Caernarfon in 2022 and Salford in 2019 respectively. 

Haverfordwest County defender Lee Jenkins features again after being an unused substitute last year, while there are first call-ups for Newtown defender Ryan Sears, Caernarfon Town midfielder Sion Bradley, Pontypridd United striker Ben Ahmun and Connah’s Quay Nomads youngster Josh Williams. 

The squad was announced through a bespoke animation produced by design firm Visually Speaking, taking elements from the badges of all 10 JD Cymru Leagues clubs who have had players selected.  

Mark Jones said: “We are very much looking forward to the game and it will be a good challenge against a top class England side. 

“I would like to congratulate every player who has been selected. I have stayed loyal to many of those who performed so well last year, but selection was nonetheless difficult because there are so many in-form players.”

Tickets for the game are available now on the Altrincham FC website

Cymru C: Alex RAMSAY (Bala Town), Connor ROBERTS (The New Saints), Danny DAVIES (The New Saints), Mael DAVIES (Penybont), Lee JENKINS (Haverfordwest County), Emlyn LEWIS (Cardiff Met), Kyle MCCARTHY (Cardiff Met), Kane OWEN (Penybont), Ryan SEARS (Newtown), Sion BRADLEY (Caernarfon Town), Aeron EDWARDS (Connah’s Quay Nomads), Clayton GREEN (Pontypridd United), Tom PRICE (Cardiff Met), Leo SMITH (The New Saints), Josh WILLIAMS (Connah’s Quay Nomads), Ben AHMUN (Pontypridd United), Gwion DAFYDD (The New Saints), Sam JONES (Cardiff Met), Kayne MCLAGGON (Barry Town United), Nathan WOOD (Penybont). 


  • Tuesday 21 March 2023
  • 7:45pm
  • J.Davidson Stadium, Altrincham

Learn more from FA Wales

Sign up to receive all things FAW, from team news, tickets, domestic, grassroots, to exclusive offers and prize draws.

We respect your privacy and are committed to protecting your personal data – view our privacy policy by clicking here.