JD Welsh Cup Qualifying Round 1

Following just 66 days since The New Saints were crowned the JD Welsh Cup Champions, the 2022/23 JD Welsh Cup was launched today (06 July), as the draw for Qualifying Round 1 was made at the FAW HQ in Hensol.

The competition has achieved another record-breaking year with the 253 entries surpassing last season’s previous record entries, with an increase of 10.

The National Cup Board have made some notable Rule changes for the new season with the introduction of the use of up to five substitutes, within three substitute periods for all rounds.

Additionally, and following the success of the Round 2 seedings last year, this procedure has been maintained, but all of the 28 seeded clubs from the JD Cymru Premier (12), JD Cymru North (8) and JD Cymru South (8) will be drawn away from home in Round 2.

There were 194 clubs in today’s draw with fifteen Tier 3 clubs receiving byes into Qualifying Round 2, based on their League positions at the end of last season. Matches in Qualifying Round 1 will be played over the weekend of Saturday 30th July 2022 with the QR2 draw taking place on Monday 1st August.

Southern Draw
Aberbargoed Buds FC v Rogerstone AFC
Aber Valley FC v Cardiff Cosmopolitan FC
Aberystwyth Exiles FC v Cardiff Airport
AFC Llwydcoed v Penarth Town FC
AFC Pontymister FC v Croesyceiliog AFC
AFC Whitchurch v Canton Rangers FC
Brecon Corries AFC v Caerleon FC
Bryn Rovers AFC v CKSV AFC
Caerphilly Athletic FC v Ely Rangers FC
Canton Liberal FC v Clwb Cymric FC
Cardiff Corinthians FC v Cwmbach Royal Stars FC
Cefn Cribwr FC v Mumbles Rangers
Cefn Fforest FC v Newport City FC
Chepstow Town FC v Blaenavon Blues FC
Clase Social v Ton Pentre AFC
Cwmbran Town FC v Nelson Cavaliers AFC
Docks Albion AFC v Aberfan FC
Evans & Williams FC v South Gower FC
FC Tredegar v RTB Ebbw Vale FC
Garden Village FC v Dafen Welfare FC
Garw SBGC FC v Cwm Wanderers AFC
Goytre AFC (Gwent) v Ynysddu Welfare FC
Hakin United FC v Cwmamman United AFC
Llanrumney Athletic v FC Cwmaman
Lliswerry AFC v Newport Saints FC
Morriston Town FC v Penlan AFC
New Inn FC v Newport Civil Service FC
Pencoed Athletic BGC FC v Afan United FC
Penrhiwceiber Rangers v Caerau Ely FC
Pentwynmawr Athletic AFC v Treowen Stars FC
Penydarren Seniors BGC v Clwb Sparta FC
PILCS FC v Newport Corinthians FC
Pill AFC FC v Cefn Hengoed FC
Porthcawl Town Athletic FC v Trostre AFC
Rockspur FC v St Josephs FC
Seven Sisters Onllwyn FC v Baglan Dragons FC
Sully Sports FC v Dinas Powys FC
Thornhill AFC v Aberdare Town FC
Tiger Bay FC v Bridgend Street FC
Tonyrefail BGC FC v Vale United FC
Tredegar Town FC v Monmouth Town FC
Treforest FC v AFC Penrhiwceiber FC
Treharris Athletic Western FC v Merthyr Saints FC
West End FC v Bettws FC
Wattsville FC v Marshfield AFC
Ynysygerwn AFC v AFC Porth

Central Draw
Berriew FC v Knighton Town FC
Bow Street v Llansantffraid Village FC
Brecon FC v Machynlleth FC
Carno FC v Aberaeron FC
Dolgellau AA FC v Builth Wells FC
Llandrindod Wells FC v Four Crosses FC
Llanilar FC v Waterloo Rovers FC
Montgomery Town FC v Tywyn Bryncrug FC
Penparcau FC v Rhayader Town FC
Presteigne St Andrews FC v Trefonen FC
Welshpool Town FC v Abermule FC

Northern Draw
Amlwch Town FC v CPD Aberffraw FC
Bangor 1876 FC v CPD Llanberis FC
Barmouth and Dyffryn Utd FC v Blaenau Ffestiniog Amateurs FC
Bodedern Athletic FC v CPD Gaerwen FC
Bontnewydd v CPD Mountain Rangers FC
Bow FC v Betws-Y-Coed AFC
Brickfield Rangers FC v Mynydd Isa Spartans FC
Caerwys FC v Hawarden Rangers
Castell Alun Colts FC v Corwen FC
CPD Cefni FC v Menai Bridge Tigers FC
CPD Cerrigydrudion v Clwb Pel Droed Llansannan FC
Coedpoeth United FC v Ruabon Rovers FC
Connahs Quay Town FC v Flint Mountain FC
Glantraeth FC v Bethesda Athletic FC
CPD Gronant v Greenfield FC
Kinmel Bay FC v Rhuddlan Town FC
Llandudno Albion FC v St Asaph City FC
Llandudno Junction FC v Meliden FC
Llandyrnog United FC v Llandudno Amateurs FC
Llanfairfechan Town FC v Llanfairpwll FC
CPD Llannefydd FC v Llysfaen FC
Llanuwchllyn FC v NFA FC
Llay Welfare FC v Lex XI FC
Mochdre Sports FC v CPD Bro Cernyw
CPD Mynydd Llandegai FC v Gwalchmai FC
CPD Nefyn United FC v CPD Pwllheli FC
Penmaenmawr Phoenix FC v Llanrug United FC
CPD Penrhyndeudraeth FC v Caergybi FC
CPD Pentraeth FC v Talysarn Celts FC
Penycae FC v Saltney Town FC
Prestatyn Sports FC v Rhyl Allstars
Rhostyllen FC v New Brighton Villa FC
Rhydymwyn FC v Rhos Aelwyd FC
Rhyl Dragons FC v CPD Caer Clwyd
CPD Sychdyn v FC Queens Park
CPD Y Fali FC v CPD Llanerch-Y-Medd FC
CPD Y Felinheli v Llanystumdwy FC
CPD Y Glannau v FC United of Wrexham
CPD Y Rhyl 1879 FC v Abergele FC
Trearddur Bay v Nantlle Vale FC

Ties to be played over the weekend of Saturday 30 July 2022.

Learn more from FA Wales

Sign up to receive all things FAW, from team news, tickets, domestic, grassroots, to exclusive offers and prize draws.

We respect your privacy and are committed to protecting your personal data – view our privacy policy by clicking here.